Prohibition orders

A prohibition order may be made when the Commissioner is satisfied a general health service provider or organisation has breached the general code of conduct and poses an unacceptable risk to the health, welfare or safety of the public or an individual. This only applies to general, or non-registered, providers, meaning those professions not regulated under the national scheme by the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA).

The order may prohibit, partly or wholly, a health practitioner or organisation from providing health services for a set period of time or permanently. An interim order of up to 12 weeks may also be made.

Prohibition orders issued in Victoria, New South Wales, Queensland and South Australia are recognised across all these states.

There are no Prohibition Orders at this time.